Department of Plasma Physics

Head of the Department is Valeriy A. Kurnaev (Dr. Sci. in Physics and Mathematics, Professor)

✆ +7 (495) 788 56 99, 9657

The Department is found in 1961 by students and comrades in work of Igor V. Kurchatov. The very first lecturers to work in the department were the staff members of Kurchatov Institute: S. Lukyanov, B. Trubnikov, V. Telkovskiy, V. Khabrov and others.


Areas of research and experts training:

  • interaction between plasma and surface (the leading scientific center of the Russian Federation), including that within the facilities of controlled thermonuclear fusion;
  • physics of gas discharges and its application in lasers, ecology and medicine;
  • diagnostics of pulse and stationary plasma;
  • plasma technologies;
  • theory of plasma and its interaction with surface of condensed media.